Author of Caution: Witch in Progress and Zac's Destiny
Get Adobe Flash player

Reviews for Caution: Witch in Progress

The following reviews are for: Caution: Witch in Progress (previously published as ‘Gertie Gets it Right (eventually)’ under a different cover)
 
Ms North has done it again, Gertie is another brilliant character (see author’s other book ‘Zac’s destiny’). Great story and very funny, let’s hope we hear more from Gertie! Ms. J. Brookes You won’t know what a wonderful story this is until you read it…a must buy for your children(or even yourself!). They will be enthralled and amazed by the content. I can say that once I started to read this book I couldn’t stop reading until the end. Don’t just take my word for it, buy your copy now. Mrs. P. Tarbuck What a wonderful read this book is! Fun and laughter from beginning to end. Are we getting anymore’Gertie’books?…………Can’t wait! Mr. J. P. Meakin Another great read from Lynne North. This humorous novel combines likeable, interesting characters, a really funny storyline and a plot that keeps you reading to the end. Love the talking umbrella, the animated doorknocker and furniture, all the weird witch’s familiars, and of course the demon… Though this is written for children, it is a story that could be enjoyed by all ages. Ms. L. Regan 5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Fun 13 Mar 2013 By Gerkintrigg Format:Paperback What I love about Caution: Witch In Progress is that everything Lynne North does in the book subverts the norm. Gertie Grimthorpe is a witch – she’s born into a society of witches who shun her because she’s good looking. I like this because it’s like the total opposite of Adrian Mole – Loads of teenage angst, but with a twist on the usual version. Gertie’s so full of personality, I can almost imagine her in the room with me as I read. She’s called Gertie because her name is “Gertrude”, but she doesn’t like the “rude” bit.
With mishaps aplenty and hilarious characters throughout (it’s hard to name my favourite, but I love the grumpy umbrella), you’ll love this book. It compares in love-ability to the Enid Blyton stories or Winnie The Witch, in my opinion. Awesome! Keep up the good work!
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle humour 1 Jun 2013
By Logi
Format:Kindle Edition
Born and brought up in Vile Vale, Gertie came from a long line of witches but was always different, in looks and actions, from the rest of its inhabitants, though no one knew why. And later, when she went to the Academy to improve her witchy skills, she still had trouble fitting in with the other students despite her best efforts. She did though make one very close friend there, Bertha, who was also regarded as a bit of an oddity, but for very different reasons.
Among Gertie’s childhood companions are such strange creatures as a talking umbrella, a smooth-skinned toad and a very near-sighted owl, all of whom have their part to play in her story. A story that is always interesting, never frightening and full of humour. Miss North’s fertile imagination has provided us with a delightful fantasy tale which will entertain and amuse children of all ages and perhaps more than a few young at heart adults too.
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighful magical romp May 25, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition    Amazon Verified Purchase
A book for all ages and families. An unusual witch perseveres with her desire to be a full-fledged witch and ultimately outperforms her worst critics. Think the Ugly Duckling, Harry Potter and Wicked.
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all ages 30 Dec 2013 By DJ Dilmore Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase What a really nice witch young Gertie is, and she is going to the Academy. Join her as she tries hard to be good at her classes, and makes friends with someone unusual. How will she cope with everything - get the book and enjoy finding out. I downloaded this book when on a FREE offer. I am grateful to the Author for the chance to read her good book. 5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read 20 April 2013 By ian A real fun read for the children. Explaining why it is important to use the correct amount of `bat spit' and the first lesson for Gertie, how to give someone a wart, is only the beginning of this humorous book, entertaining for any age. Enjoyable for the whole family, it currently has pride of place on my daughters bookshelf. Also the wonderful cover design wraps around to the rear of the book. Looks really cool, great design   4.0 out of 5 stars Caution:Witch in Progress 7 Jan 2014 By P. J. Tweedie Gertie is a witch or is she - some believe she is while others do not? Either way her Ma and grandmother are sending her off to school to allow her to reach her potential ( and determine if she is a witch or not). I found the book enchanting and funny,a different spin on most witch tales. Although the book is aimed at a younger reader ( rather than a middle aged mother) I really enjoyed the book. It is well written, with interesting and likeable quirky characters, animals and animated objects. Well worth a read even for middle aged adults!   4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 20 Nov 2013 By Jan - See all my reviews Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?) This review is from: Caution: Witch In Progress (Kindle Edition) I really enjoyed this book, - although a little repetitive in places. Would like to read the next one in this series.   5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 20 Mar 2013 By Rossy - See all my reviews This review is from: Caution: Witch In Progress (Paperback) This is a great children's humorous fantasy book ideal for eight years olds to young teens (or adults who are young at heart!). You will fall in love with Gertie the main character that comes from a long line of witches but has yet to get to grips with her ancestry. There are lots of other characters to meet as you read through the book that add fun and frolics along the way; a very enjoyable read.   5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous witchy book! 1 Mar 2014 By JK1 (England) - See all my reviews Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?) This review is from: Caution: Witch In Progress (Kindle Edition) As soon as I started reading this book, I was hooked. I know it can be hard for an author to grab their reader's attention, but drawn in more and more. The fantastic and unique story follows a young human-looking witch, with a kind heart, going to a magic school and struggles to perform spells like her mother and grandmother. I Thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone! I can't wait to see if there's a sequel! 5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Can't wait to read the next one, 8 Feb 2014 By Amazon Customer - See all my reviews Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?) This review is from: Caution: Witch In Progress (Kindle Edition) Really excellent book. Couldn't put down. Looking forward to ready next one. Almost like a Harry potter! Well written and very good characters. 5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for young and old alike!! January 9, 2014 By Denna Holm Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase I originally picked up this fun, amusing story as a birthday present for my ten-year-old niece, but I made the mistake of reading the first pages when it was delivered and had to go out to buy my own copy so I could finish the story. It has made great reading for the grandkids when they come for a visit. Gertie Grimthorpe comes from a long line of witches, but unfortunately she’s never really fit in the witch community. She doesn’t look like all the other witches, and all the characteristics the community associates with them, hooked noses, pointed chin, and not such pleasant personalities. Gertie is beautiful and a genuinely nice person. But Gertie wants to fit in, even hoping she’ll soon grow her first wart. Her mother decides she might get things moving along if she sends her daughter to a school for witches, hoping she’ll at least learn how to concoct a simple spell without having it backfire. Lynne North did a great job, the story fun, this quirky cast of characters easy to picture as we follow Gertie in her quest to become a ‘real’ witch. Several places had me laughing out loud. For any of those with tweens, you can’t go wrong with this one, and even for those who are a little older (or a lot, like me), and still embrace the child that lives inside you, I guarantee a fun journey.
My Blog

I hope you will want to join me in discussing my books, your favourite authors, and what you look for in your chosen reading. Writing is a learning curve, and who better to help authors learn than the readers we are trying to introduce our books to.

   Lynne North Fantasy author blog 

My Facebook Page!
Readers Favorite


The Book Awards Winner!